

## Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2023-049

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Community & Economic Development Meeting Date: 3/21/2023

Title: Rice Creek Commons Joint Development Authority Advisory File Number: 2023-114

Committee Vice Chair

## **Background and Rationale:**

A Joint Powers Agreement (JPA) between Ramsey County and the city of Arden Hills to redevelop the Twin Cities Army Ammunition Plant, now known as Rice Creek Commons, was approved on November 27, 2012, for the period of December 31, 2012, to December 31, 2038. Under the JPA, a Joint Development Authority was created to describe the city and county's intention to exercise "their respective authority granted by Minnesota Statutes 471.59. The powers of this JDA include but are not limited to, "remediation of contamination and elimination of blight, infrastructure construction and financing, comprehensive planning and zoning, and redevelopment and economic development" on the Rice Creek Commons site. Article II describes the structure of the JDA in detail. Two salient points of the JDA:

- The JDA Board consists of five members; two each from the city and county, and one
  member appointed by the city who is a suitable non-elected official member who shall serve
  as the Chair.
- The Vice Chair is appointed by the county.

The JDA started meeting on February 6, 2023. More information can be found <u>HERE</u> <a href="https://www.cityofardenhills.org/367/Joint-Development-Authority">https://www.cityofardenhills.org/367/Joint-Development-Authority</a>.

This request is for Ramsey County to reaffirm the JDA vote taken at the Rice Creek Commons Joint Development Authority Advisory Committee meeting on February 6, 2023.

## Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Affirm Commissioner Frethem as the Vice Chair of the Rice Creek Commons Joint Development Authority Advisory Committee.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt. Motion passed.

Aye: - 6: Frethem, MatasCastillo, McGuire, Ortega, Reinhardt, and Xiong

Absent: - 1: Moran

By: M Cheng

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board