

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2024-236

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Public Health

Meeting Date: 11/19/2024

File Number: 2024-526

Title: Approval of the Household Hazardous Waste Inter-County Reciprocal Use Agreement

Background and Rationale:

Since 1991, the seven metropolitan counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington have participated in the Household Hazard Waste (HHW) Inter-County Reciprocal Use Agreement. The 2022-2042 Metropolitan Solid Waste Management Policy Plan, incorporated into the Ramsey County's 2018-2038 Solid Waste Management Plan, states that the region will maintain the Reciprocal Use Agreement for HHW services. This agreement allows residents of participating counties to use HHW sites in any of the counties and creates a mechanism whereby county HHW programs that receive and manage HHW from residents of other counties may invoice the resident's county for the cost of providing that service. The agreement that is currently in place is set to expire on December 31, 2024. The new agreement will continue the program through December 31, 2029.

The proposed Reciprocal Use Agreement maintains a regional per vehicle fee of \$34 based on the seven-county average of the previous five years of regional fee collection and accounts for minor cost inflation. The term of the Reciprocal Use Agreement is 2025-2029.

From 2019 - 2023, an average of 4,260 Ramsey County residents used HHW sites in other metro counties. During that same time, an average of 493 residents of other counties used Ramsey County HHW sites.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- 1. Approve an Inter-County Reciprocal Use Agreement with the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Scott, and Washington for the period of January 1, 2025, through December 31, 2029.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and Chief Clerk to execute the Reciprocal Use Agreement.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner McGuire. Motion passed.

Aye: - 6: Frethem, McGuire, Moran, Ortega, Reinhardt, and Xiong

By:

Jason Yang, Interim Chief Clerk - County Board