roclamation

WHEREAS, The week of April 7 – April 13, 2025 is National Public Health Week, and the theme is "It Starts Here" highlighting the importance of making a difference in local homes, communities, county and state; and

WHEREAS, This is the 30th anniversary of celebrating National Public Health Week which recognizes the contributions of public health in improving the health of all people and achieving racial and health equity; and

WHEREAS, Saint Paul – Ramsey County Public Health supports residents and communities throughout the county, and is made up of Administration, Clinical Services, Correctional Health, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Environmental Health, Family Health, Healthy Communities and Women, Infants, and Children divisions; and

WHEREAS, Public Health professionals are fundamental to preventing, preparing and providing health education on chronic diseases, infectious diseases, injury and violence, and opioid and substance use, while promoting maternal, child and adolescent health, mental health and wellbeing, and environmental health; and

WHEREAS, A person's health status can differ drastically by ZIP code due to differences in the built environment, environmental quality, community context, access to healthy food, education and health care; and

WHEREAS, Efforts to strengthen public health and its workforce are vital to transforming a health system that continues to improve processes, policies and practices focused on awareness, education, outreach, prevention, promoting wellness, providing culturally specific services and including voices from communities most impacted; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares the week of April 7 – 13, 2025 as Public Health Week in Ramsey County; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners recognizes the efforts and impact of Saint Paul – Ramsey County Public Health, its partners and community organizations who collaborate with the department in improving the health of Ramsey County.

Rafael Ortega, Board Chair, District 5

Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2 arun. 11 11

Moran, Commissioner, District 4 Rena

Kelly Miller, Commissioner, District 7

Tara Jebens-Singh, Commissione District

Garrison McMurtrey, Commissioner, District 3

Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6 Ker

Ling Becker, County Manager