

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2023-200

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Social Services	

Meeting Date: 11/14/2023

Title: Joint Powers Agreement with the Minnesota Department of Human Services for Technical Assistance

Background and Rationale:

Ramsey County has been a recipient of the Women in Recovery Services (WRS) block grant distributed by Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) since 2002. Ramsey County has utilized this grant to serve women who are pregnant and raising children under the age of one. Mothers First Program (Mothers First) is a preventative voluntary program offered to families who reside in Ramsey County who are struggling with substance use or have recently discontinued substance use and need additional support remaining free of substance use. The mission of Mothers First is to help families live a substance use free life.

In April of 2023, Ramsey County submitted a proposal to provide technical assistance to the other recipients of the Women in Recovery Services Grant. There are 12 grantees who receive the Women in Recovery Services Grant distributed by DHS. The Joint Powers Agreement would allow Ramsey County to host trainings, provide continuing education credits, provide meals, and provide venues for these grant related learning opportunities. Ramsey County will be providing three years of technical assistance to WRS grantees. This is to include three trainings each year, speakers to subject matter expertise to women in recovery, cost of space rental, food, and continued education credits.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- Approve the Joint Powers Agreement with the Minnesota Department of Human Services, 540 Cedar Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101, for technical assistance and coordination of Women Recovery Services Grantee meetings for the period upon execution through June 30, 2026.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and Chief Clerk to execute the Joint Powers Agreement.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Reinhardt, seconded by Commissioner McGuire. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Frethem, Martinson, McGuire, Moran, Ortega, Reinhardt, and Xiong

n Cheng By:

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board