

## Board of Commissioners Resolution

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

B2024-206

Sponsor: Public Works Meeting Date: 10/15/2024

Title: Transfer of Excess Municipal County State Aid Highway Funds File Number: 2024-459

## **Background and Rationale:**

The County State Aid Highway (CSAH) funding that the county receives yearly comes from the Highway User Tax Distribution Fund through revenues generated by the state gas tax, license fees, and motor vehicle sales tax.

Minnesota Statutes 162.08, subdivision 4(d) provides that accumulated Municipal CSAH fund balances in excess of two years' municipal account apportionments may be transferred to a county's regular CSAH balance for use outside of municipalities that are under 5,000 in population when the county's board of commissioners approves that transfer. The two-year municipal account apportionments are just over \$700,000. Ramsey County has a balance of \$2,015,086, which is \$340,531 more than the maximum allowed balance of \$1,674,555, which is determined by the state aid office.

To prevent a reduction of \$340,531 in CSAH funds that are allocated to the county in 2025, a minimum of \$340,531, but no more than \$1,215,086, must be transferred from the Municipal CSAH balance to the Regular CSAH fund balance. These funds are used to finance the Ramsey County Transportation Improvement Program.

The transfer of funds from the Municipal CSAH account to the Regular CSAH account does not adversely affect any of the cities in Ramsey County with a population under 5,000 because funds from the Regular CSAH account can be used on the county roads within those communities.

## Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Authorize the County Engineer to request from the Minnesota Department of Transportation State Aid for Local Transportation, a transfer of \$1,215,086 from the County's Municipal State Aid fund balance to its Regular County State Aid fund balance.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner McGuire. Motion passed.

Aye: - 6: Frethem, McGuire, Moran, Ortega, Reinhardt, and Xiong

m Cheng

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board