roclamation

WHEREAS, The month of June is recognized internationally as PRIDE Month to commemorate the Stonewall Riots in June 1969, which sparked the Gay Rights liberation movement; and

WHEREAS, The United States, with its constitutional protections of liberty, continues to provide a foundation for LGBTQIA+ communities to thrive with purpose and promise; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County has been advancing equity and inclusivity by embedding policies, training, and resources to foster workplaces where LGBTQIA2S+ employees and community members feel respected in their authenticity and supported in their well-being; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County employs over 4,000 individuals whose diverse identities including race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, age, ability, and lived experiences contribute to a stronger, more vibrant workforce; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County remains steadfast in its commitment to fostering inclusivity, equity, and belonging, especially in times of uncertainty, and recognizes that in the face of growing national attacks on civil rights and access to gender-affirming systems of support and care, such inclusive practices are more essential than ever; and

WHEREAS, The PRIDE: LGBTQIA2S+ Employee Resource Group, established in 2023, promotes a safe and inclusive workplace culture through sponsored trainings, networking, and the Pronoun Normalization Campaign; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County acknowledges the critical role of Employee Resource Groups in advancing equity within the organizational culture, providing spaces of support, and ensuring all employees have the opportunity to thrive; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares June 2025, as PRIDE Month in Ramsey County and encourages all residents, employees, and community members to celebrate PRIDE Month in the spirit of love, acceptance, and unity.

Ortega, Board Chair, District 5

aryb Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Varan IMU. Rena Moran, Commissioner, District 4

Kelly Miller, Commissioner, District 7

Tara Jebens-Singh, Commissione District

Garrison McMurtrey, Commissioner, District 3

Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

EBecker Becker, County Manager