

Board of Commissioners Resolution

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

B2021-232

Sponsor: Public Health Meeting Date: 10/26/2021

Title: Appointments to the Community Health Services Advisory File Number: 2021-599

Committee

Background and Rationale:

The Saint Paul - Ramsey County Community Health Services Advisory Committee (CHSAC) advises the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and Saint Paul's Mayor and City Council on issues related to public health. The CHSAC meets with the Director of Saint Paul - Ramsey County Public Health, as well as other department staff. Members of the committee hear presentations and participate in discussions focused on current public health issues, which may include:

- Identifying priority public health issues based on data, community engagement, professional knowledge and lived experiences. These priority issues provide guidance related to programs and services, action teams and budgetary allocation.
- Serving on department committees such as the Ethics Committee, or panels to review grant applications, public health award recipients, etc.
- Connecting the department to communities, resources, data and insights related to a current or upcoming issue.
- Providing policy recommendations to elected officials on public health issues, such as youth tobacco use and breastfeeding friendly workplaces.

The CHSAC has a total of thirteen (13) seats-one for each district and six (6) at-large. Appointment terms are two years and staggered 50% each year.

There are four at-large vacancies on the CHSAC. Recruitment through the county's open appointment process resulted in four applications. On September 7, 2021, the applications were forwarded to the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for review and recommendations.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Appoint the following individuals for at-large positions on the Community Health Services Advisory Committee: Brady Johnson and Hongyi Lan for terms ending June 26, 2022, and Erica Morris and Rajaram Swaminathan for terms ending June 26, 2023.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner McDonough. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

Rv.

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board

n Cheng