

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2025-087

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Human Resources Meeting Date: 5/6/2025

Title: Terms of Collective Bargaining Agreement with Law

File Number: 2025-157

Enforcement Labor Services Local 349 9-1-1 Telecommunicators and

Public Safety Dispatchers for the years 2025, 2026, and 2027

Background and Rationale:

Collective bargaining with Law Enforcement Labor Services Local 349 9-1-1 Telecommunicators and Public Safety Dispatchers has resulted in agreement for a three-year contract for the years 2025, 2026, and 2027. This bargaining unit represents approximately 94 employees who work at the Ramsey County Emergency Communicator Center department in the job classifications of 9-1-1 Telecommunicators and Public Safety Dispatchers.

The current agreement expired December 31, 2024 and Ramsey County Board approval of a new agreement is required. The proposed settlement is the successful result of negotiation and mediation between the parties. This agreement reflects the diligent efforts of union and management participants in the bargaining process. The settlement was reached between the parties in mediation on April 9, 2025. The bargaining unit subsequently voted to ratify the tentative agreement on April 21, 2025. Although the challenges were significant, there were ample opportunities to address the interests of both union and management. The proposed settlement addresses the important interests of affected employees and the county, including modernization of the classification and compensation structure, while honoring the fiscal limitation expressed by the Ramsey County Board.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- Approve the terms of the collective bargaining agreement with Law Enforcement Labor Services Local 349 9-1-1 Telecommunicators and Public Safety Dispatchers for the years 2025, 2026, and 2027.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and the County Manager to execute the agreement.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner McGuire, seconded by Commissioner Miller. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Jebens-Singh, McGuire, McMurtrey, Miller, Moran, Ortega, and Xiong

Jason Yang, Interim Chief Clerk - County

Board