

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2021-146

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

File Number: 2021-310

Sponsor: Human Resources Meeting Date: 6/22/2021

Title: Terms of Collective Bargaining Agreements with Teamsters

320 Correctional Officer 3 for the Year 2021

Background and Rationale:

Collective bargaining with Teamsters 320 Correctional Officer 3 has resulted in a tentative agreement for a one-year contract for the year of 2021. This bargaining unit represents approximately 21 employees who work at the Ramsey County Correctional Facility and the Ramsey County Sherriff's Office in the job classification of Correctional Officer 3.

The current agreement expired December 31, 2020 and County Board approval of new agreements is required. The proposed settlement is the successful result of negotiations between the parties. This agreement reflects the diligent efforts of union and management participants in the bargaining process as well as the assistance of the mediators at the Bureau of Mediation Services.

The settlement was reached between the parties on May 13, 2021 during a mediated session with the Bureau of Mediation Services. The Union subsequently voted to ratify the tentative agreement on June 1, 2021. Although the challenges were significant, there was ample opportunity to address the interests of both union and management and there is a successful conclusion of this process. The proposed settlement addresses the important interests of affected employees and the County while staying within the financial parameters authorized by the County Board.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- 1. Approve the terms of the collective bargaining agreement with Teamsters 320 Correctional Officer 3's for the year 2021.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and the County Manager, as representatives of the County, to approve and sign the agreement incorporating these terms and conditions.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner McDonough, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt.

Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

aliyar Jackstu

Abby Goldsmith, Deputy Clerk - County Board