

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2024-137

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Workforce Solutions Meeting Date: 7/23/2024

Title: Appointments to the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey File Number: 2024-233

County

Background and Rationale:

Local workforce development boards are required entities under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act to provide oversight for the public workforce system. The Workforce Innovation Board (WIB) serves as the local workforce development board for Ramsey County. The 33 WIB members represent business, community-based organizations (CBO), one-stop center partners, labor, economic development, education and elected officials. Eighteen of the members are appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and 15 are appointed by the Mayor of Saint Paul for two-year terms. At the end of their terms, WIB members can seek reappointment by the appointing authorities.

The terms of six county appointed WIB members will expire on July 31, 2024 and three are seeking reappointment. Additionally, a new application was received to fill a vacating Business seat. All of these appointments are for the term beginning on August 1, 2024 and ending on July 31, 2026.

It is the practice of the WIB Executive Committee to review appointments and make recommendations to the appointing bodies. At its meeting on May 22, 2024, the Executive Committee voted to recommend to the county board that the three incumbents and one new applicant be appointed for the term commencing August 1, 2024 and ending on July 31, 2026.

On June 10, 2024, the applications were forwarded to the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for review and recommendation.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Appoint the following individuals to serve on the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County for a term beginning on August 1, 2024 and ending on July 31, 2026:

Jennifer Germain (incumbent)
 One-Stop Center Partner

Tami Cybulski Business
 John Perlich (incumbent) Business
 Elisa Rasmussen (incumbent) Business

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Frethem, Martinson, McGuire, Moran, Ortega, Reinhardt, and Xiong

File Number: 2024-233 Resolution Number: B2024-137

By: M Cheng

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board