

Board of Commissioners Resolution

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

B2024-243

Sponsor: Social Services Meeting Date: 11/19/2024

Title: Ramsey County Mobile Crisis Services File Number: 2024-631

Background and Rationale:

Ramsey County is committed to providing accessible mental health and crisis support to community. In early 2024, staff worked with the news media on a data request regarding our mobile crisis support and how Ramsey County billed for services. The Social Services Department (SSD) made some immediate changes such as inserting sliding scale information into all invoices and adding information to our website. They also have spent time over the last few months reviewing our mental health crisis fees, working with the state, gathering data, and reviewing best practices from jurisdictions that offer similar services. On November 12, 2024, SSD presented a workshop to the Ramsey County Board that provided information on the entire mental health ecosystem, highlighted our role within the system, discussed our mental health crisis services and the Mental Health Crisis Grant and recommended the action that is before you today.

Mental health parity is essential to ensuring people in our community receive the services they need. Ramsey County is committed to this and to making sure services are accessible to all while also being good stewards of taxpayer dollars. SSD staff recommend using the Mental Health Crisis Grant funds to pay for services provided to underinsured and uninsured individuals receiving care, thus ensuring that no self-pay clients receive a bill or are dissuaded from seeking essential care. This would become effective immediately on November 20, 2024, if approved by the board.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Approve the use of the Minnesota Department of Human Services Mental Health Crisis Grant funds to pay for self-pay mental health crisis services.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner Xiong. Motion passed.

Aye: - 6: Frethem, McGuire, Moran, Ortega, Reinhardt, and Xiong

Зу:

Jason Yang, Interim Chief Clerk - County

Board