

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2025-143

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Workforce Solutions Meeting Date: 7/22/2025

Title: Appointments to the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey File Number: 2025-262

County

Background and Rationale:

Local workforce development boards are required entities under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act to provide oversight for the public workforce system. The Workforce Innovation Board (WIB) serves as the local workforce development board for Ramsey County. The 33 WIB members represent business, community-based organizations (CBO), one-stop center partners, labor, economic development, education and elected officials. Eighteen of the members are appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and 15 are appointed by the Mayor of Saint Paul for two-year terms. At the end of their terms, WIB members can seek reappointment by the appointing authorities.

The terms of ten county appointed WIB members will expire on July 31, 2025, and eight are seeking reappointment. Additionally, three new applications were received to fill the vacating Education and Community-Based Organization seats and one existing vacant Business seat. All these appointments are for the term beginning on August 1, 2025, and ending on July 31, 2027.

It is the practice of the WIB's Membership and Executive Committees to review appointments and make recommendations to the appointing bodies. At their meetings on May 19 and May 28 respectively, the Membership and Executive Committees voted to recommend to the county board that all eight incumbents and the three new applicants be appointed for the term commencing August 1, 2025, and ending July 31, 2027.

On June 27, 2025, the applications were forwarded to the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for review.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

File Number: 2025-262 Resolution Number: B2025-143

Appoint the following individuals to serve on the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County for a term beginning August 1, 2025, and ending July 31, 2027:

Ismail Ali (incumbent) Business
 Becky Degendorfer (incumbent) Business
 Sara Garbe (incumbent) One-Stop Partner

Karen Gerdin Education

Lisa Guetzkow (incumbent)
 One-Stop Partner

Ricardo Bennett Guzman
 Community-Based Organization

Traci Leffner Business
 Donald Mullin (incumbent) Labor
 Koami Pedado (incumbent) Business
 Aalayha Traub (incumbent) Business

Tracy Wilson (incumbent)
 Education

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Jebens-Singh, seconded by Commissioner McGuire.

Motion passed.

Aye: - 6: Jebens-Singh, McGuire, McMurtrey, Moran, Ortega, and Xiong

Excused: - 1: Miller

Jason Yang, Chief Clerk - County Board