

Housing and Redevelopment **Authority** Resolution

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

File Number: 2021-772

H2022-005

Sponsor: Community & Economic Development **Meeting Date: 1/11/2022**

Title: Amendment to the 2020 Community Development Block Grant -

HOME Investments Partnerships Act Annual Action Plan.

Background and Rationale:

Ramsey County has received Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding as an urban county since 1986. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) provides these annual grants to "develop viable urban communities by providing decent housing, a suitable living environment, and by expanding economic opportunities, principally for low-to-moderate-income individuals." Categories of eligible activities include, but are not limited to, public services, public infrastructure, and the rehabilitation of low-to-moderate-income housing. The funds are limited for use in suburban Ramsey County. As the grant recipient, Ramsey County may obligate funds internally to eligible activities or may subgrant funds to eligible activities using an approved solicitation process.

On May 12, 2020 the Ramsey County Housing and Redevelopment Authority (HRA) authorized the County Manager to submit an Annual Action Plan (AAP) for the use of 2020 CDBG and HOME funds. Per HUD rules and regulations, an amendment to an AAP is needed when grant funding is obligated to projects and activities in an amount over \$100,000.

Projects recommended for CDBG funding within an amended 2020 AAP: CDBG Distribution of Funds:

Ramsey County Emergency Family Hotel Program - suburban countywide \$168,000

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Housing and Redevelopment Authority resolved to:

- Approve the amended 2020 Community Development Block Grant HOME Investments Partnerships Act Action Plan/Proposed Use of Funds.
- 2. Authorize the County Manager to submit a Substantial Plan Amendment to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Carter, seconded by Commissioner McGuire. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

n Cheng Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board