

Housing and Redevelopment Authority Resolution

H2020-014

15 West Kelloga Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Community and Economic Development

Meeting Date:12/1/2020

Item Number: 2020-511

Title: Amendment to the 2019 Action Plan for Community Development **Block Grant Funds**

Background:

Funds are provided to Ramsey County under the Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG) to support the development of viable communities, principally for persons of low and moderate income through the provision of decent housing; a suitable living environment; and expanded economic opportunities. The amendment proposes to accept the supplemental CDBG funds which will be provided through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), which makes available \$5 billion nationally in supplemental CDBG funding for grants to prevent, prepare for, and respond to coronavirus (CDBG-CV grants). Funds are allocated to jurisdictions based on the current CDBG formula.

These funds are limited for use in suburban Ramsey County. The City of Saint Paul received a separate entitlement of approximately \$6M in CDBG-CV funds. It is anticipated CDBG-CV funds will be used for small business assistance and housing support for low- and moderate-income households.

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) regulations for CDBG funds require an amendment from the Housing and Redevelopment Authority whenever a project is undertaken which was not specifically identified, including an address, in a previously approved action plan.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Authorize the County Manager to submit a Plan Amendment to the 2019 Action Plan to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development that allocates an additional \$1,044,909 in supplemental Community Development Block Grant funds provided by the CARES Act, and to accept the amount of \$1,044,909 once funds become available, for a cumulative total of \$1,729,813.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Ortega, seconded by Commissioner McDonough. Ayes - 7: Carter, Frethem, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, Reinhardt, MatasCastillo Motion passed.

By: <u>Janet M. Guthrie</u>, Chief Clerk – County Board