

## Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2020-247

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

## Sponsor: County Manager's Office

Meeting Date: 12/1/2020

Item Number: 2020-563

**Title:** Proposed Housing Stability Department Ordinance – Set the Public Hearing Date

## Background:

The new Housing Stability Department will align all County housing services and programs in one organization. Further, the financing and development of housing infrastructure will be consolidated within the Community & Economic Development department, which is also within the Economic Growth and Community investment (EGCI) Service Team

Placement of the new Housing Stability Department within the EGCI Service Team strategically and operationally aligns all resources, funding, staffing and programs along the housing continuum: Emergency Housing > Supportive Housing > Subsidized Housing > Long-Term Stability within one Service Team to improve the delivery of services to our residents.

After creation of the department, budget and Full Time Equivalents supporting housing stability functions will be transferred to the Housing Stability Department from the Health & Wellness Service Team (HWST) and the Incident Management Team (IMT).

The Ramsey County Home Rule Charter section 5.01A.1 states that acts of the County Board which shall be by ordinance include the following: Establish, structure, merge, or abolish any county department, office, agency, board or commission, except as provided for in this charter.

The Ramsey County Home Rule Charter section 5.02 states that every proposed ordinance shall hold a public hearing as required by law.

## **Recommendation:**

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Set the date and time for the Public Hearing regarding the proposed Housing Stability Department Ordinance for December 22, 2020, at 9:00 a.m., or as soon as possible thereafter, in the Council Chambers of the Ramsey County Court House, for the purpose of taking public comments.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner MatasCastillo, seconded by Commissioner McDonough. Ayes – 7: Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, Reinhardt, Carter. Motion passed.

By: \_

Janet M. Guthrie, Chief Clerk – County Board