

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2020-202

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-83506

Sponsor: Financial Assistance Services

Meeting Date:10/20/2020

Item Number: 2020-424

Title: Cooperative Agreement By and Among the Metropolitan County Consortium for Non-Emergency Medical Transportation

Background:

The Financial Assistance Services Department (FAS) is requesting the County Board continue its cooperative arrangement with 12 other counties in the metropolitan region to administer non-emergency medical transportation (NEMT). The other counties are Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Mille Lacs, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Washington, and Wright. Hennepin County is the current fiscal agent. The County has been part of a cooperative agreement for this purpose since 2009.

Under the agreement, a Governing Board, made up of the human services' department directors of the participating counties oversees the administration and delivery of NEMT services to eligible County residents. Through a previous solicitation process conducted by Hennepin County, Medical Transportation Management (MTM), Inc., has been providing NEMT since 2016. Hennepin County has commenced a new solicitation process in 2020 with a NEMT vendor to be selected in 2021.

As the fiscal agent, Hennepin County is responsible for collecting reports on the selected vendor's compliance with contract terms, regulations and the terms of the Request for Proposal. Hennepin County bills Ramsey County to cover administrative costs, based on the actual number of rides provided to clients, using the rate in the contract.

Medical Assistance pays for the costs of the actual transportation provided to eligible County residents. This agreement is to cover the administrative costs of arranging the rides. For 2021, the cost to Ramsey County for administrative costs after federal reimbursement will be \$3.85 per trip arranged. The total projected cost to the County in 2021 for these levy-funded administrative expenses is estimated to be approximately \$400,000.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- 1. Approve the agreement with Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Mille Lacs, Pine, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Washington, and Wright counties to cooperatively manage non-emergency medical transportation and related services in accordance with the rates as established in the agreement, effective upon the earlier of the date of execution by all counties listed or January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2024.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and Chief Clerk to execute the agreement

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Reinhardt, seconded by Commissioner MatasCastillo. Ayes – 7: Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, Reinhardt, Carter. Motion passed.

By: