

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2022-158

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor:

Meeting Date: 7/12/2022

Title: Designation of two Unclassified, Unrepresented positions in the Public Health Department in Accordance with the Personnel Act, Minnesota Statute 383A.286, Subdivision 3.

Background and Rationale:

Public Health department's responsibilities continue to be highly complex which necessitate the need for positions/roles to support the growing team and ensure county initiatives and priorities are represented throughout department policies and programs. Human Resources recommends the approval of the Health and Wellness Service Team's request to change the designation of two currently vacant classified Full-Time Equivalents (FTEs) to that of two unclassified, unrepresented positions that will be utilized in roles that assist the department director in managing the Public Health department.

Reporting directly to the department director, the two designated unclassified, unrepresented positions will assist in overseeing department divisions, supervising staff, and assisting the director, leadership team, and county management with planning and implementing department objectives and strategies. Responsibilities may include assisting with developing department strategic plans; planning, developing, evaluating, and implementing department policies, programs, projects, and service offerings; planning and managing department budgets; establishing partnerships with external agencies, key stakeholders, and community members; and ensuring compliance with applicable regulations, policies, and procedures.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Approve the change in designation of two Planning Specialist positions to that of two unclassified, unrepresented positions, such as Deputy Director positions in the Public Health Department in accordance with the Personnel Act, Minnesota Statute 383A.286, Subdivision 3.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Reinhardt, seconded by Commissioner McDonough. Motion passed. Aye: - 6: Carter, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt Absent: - 1: Frethem

n Cheng By:

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board

File Number: 2022-061