

## Board of Commissioners Resolution

**PSOIUTION**B2022-200

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Board of Commissioners Meeting Date: 8/23/2022

Title: Appointments to the Capitol Region Watershed District Board of File Number: 2022-446

Managers

## **Background and Rationale:**

The Capitol Region Watershed District (CRWD) is led by a five-person Board of Managers that guides CRWD implementation of the goals and objectives set forth in its <a href="Watershed Management Plan">Watershed Management Plan</a> <a href="https://www.capitolregionwd.org/watershed-management-plan/">Watershed Management Plan</a> <a href="https://www.capitolregionwd.org/watershed-management-plan/">Watershed-management-plan/</a> <a href="https://www.capitolregionwd.org/watershed-management-plan/">Watershed-management-plan/</a> <a href="https://www.capitolregionwd.org/watershed-management-plan/">Watershed-management-plan/</a> <a href="https://www.capitolregionwd.org/watershed-management-plan/">Watershed District</a>, which includes portions of Falcon Heights, Lauderdale, Maplewood, Roseville and Saint Paul</a> . Board managers are residents of the watershed district and serve a three-year term.

There are currently two vacancies on the CRWD Board of Managers due to term expirations. Recruitment through the county's open appointment resulted in two applications from incumbents. On July 27, 2022, the applications were forwarded to the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for review. Additionally, the commissioners held interviews with each applicant, which gave the commissioners the opportunity to engage with and learn more about each applicant beyond just the review of the online applications. On August 8 and 9, 2022, three commissioners interviewed the applicants for final recommendation.

## Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Appoint Mary Texer (incumbent) and Shawn Murphey (incumbent) to the Capitol Region Watershed District Board of Managers for terms beginning October 1, 2022 and ending September 30, 2025.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Carter, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

m Cheng

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board