

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2022-204

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: Human Resources

Meeting Date: 8/23/2022

File Number: 2022-469

Title: Terms of Collective Bargaining Agreements with the Ramsey County Deputy Federation for 2021 and 2022-2024

Background and Rationale:

Collective bargaining with the Ramsey County Deputy Federation bargaining unit has resulted in a tentative agreement for a one-year agreement for the year of 2021 as well as a second tentative agreement for a three-year contract for the years 2022, 2023 and 2024. This bargaining unit represents approximately 176 employees who are Ramsey County Sheriff personnel in the job classification of Sheriff Deputy.

The current agreement expired December 31, 2020, and Ramsey County Board approval of a new agreement is required. The proposed settlement is the successful result of negotiations between the parties, and this agreement reflects the diligent efforts of union and management participants in the bargaining process as well as the assistance of the mediators at the Minnesota Bureau of Mediation Services. With ample opportunities to address the interest of both union and management, the settlement was reached between the parties on April 12, 2022 for both the 2021 and the 2022-2024 contract periods and was ratified by the bargaining unit membership on May 26, 2022. The proposed settlement addresses the important interests of affected employees and the county while honoring the fiscal limitation expressed by the Ramsey County Board.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- 1. Approve the terms of collective bargaining agreements with the Ramsey County Deputy Federation for the year of 2021 and years 2022, 2023 and 2024.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and the County Manager to execute the agreements incorporating the terms and conditions.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Reinhardt, seconded by Commissioner Frethem. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

n Cheng By:

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board