

## Board of Commissioners Resolution

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

B2022-208

Sponsor: Community Corrections Meeting Date: 9/6/2022

Title: Joint Powers Agreement with the Metro East Consortium for File Number: 2022-457

**Adult Basic Education Services** 

## **Background and Rationale:**

Metro East Adult Basic Education is a partnership between eight school districts and other community partners in the north metro. Together, the collaboration forms the Metro East Consortium. The Consortium offers free Adult Basic Education (ABE) classes to develop basic skills for adults ages 18 and up who are not enrolled in a high school program. The Metro East Consortium is part of a state-wide network overseen by the Minnesota Department of Education and is funded with both federal and state funds.

Ramsey County Community Corrections department has been a voting member of the Consortium since 1998. North St. Paul-Maplewood Oakdale School Independent School District (ISD) # 622, a Consortium member and fiscal agent, provides some ABE funding, pre-post testing and GED testing for Ramsey County Correctional Facility residents and understands its unique educational setting. Participation in the Consortium allows the Correctional Facility to access reimbursement from the Minnesota Department of Education and the Federal Department of Education. A new agreement with North St. Paul-Maplewood Oakdale School ISD # 622 will be completed in late 2022.

During 2021, the Consortium updated its naming convention to a Joint Powers Agreement. The Correctional Facility is requesting approval for this change to continue providing these educational opportunities to its residents.

## Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- 1. Approve the Joint Powers Agreement with the Metro East Consortium, 2520 East 12th Avenue, North St. Paul, MN 55109 for adult basic education services.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and Chief Clerk to Execute the Joint Powers Agreement.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Frethem, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt. Motion passed.

Aye: - 6: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, Ortega, and Reinhardt

Absent: - 1: McGuire

By: M Cheng

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board