

## Board of Commissioners Resolution

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

File Number: 2022-480

B2022-216

Sponsor: Human Resources Meeting Date: 9/20/2022

**Title:** Terms of Collective Bargaining Agreement with Teamsters 320

Probation Officers for the years 2022, 2023 and 2024

## **Background and Rationale:**

Collective bargaining with Teamsters 320 Probation Officers has resulted in agreement for a three-year contract for the years 2022-2024. This bargaining unit represents approximately 185 employees who work in the Community Corrections department in the job classification of Probation Officer 1, 2, or 3.

The current agreement expired December 31, 2021 and Ramsey County Board approval of a new agreement is required. The proposed settlement is the result of negotiations between the parties and reflects the diligent efforts of union and management participants in the bargaining process as well as the assistance of the mediators at the Minnesota Bureau of Mediation Services. The settlement was reached between the parties on August 22, 2022 following a mediation session with the Bureau of Mediation Services. The bargaining unit subsequently voted to ratify the tentative agreement on September 16, 2022. Although the challenges were significant, there was ample opportunity to address the interests of both union and management and there is a successful conclusion of this process. The proposed settlement addresses the important interests of affected employees and the county while staying within the financial parameters authorized by the Ramsey County Board.

## Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- 1. Approve the terms of the collective bargaining agreement with Teamsters 320 Probation Officers for the years 2022, 2023 and 2024.
- 2. Authorize the Chair and the County Manager to execute the agreement.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner McDonough, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt.

Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

By: M Cheng

Mee Cheng, Chief Clerk - County Board