

Board of Commissioners Resolution

B2020-265

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

File Number: 2020-578

Sponsor: Human Resources Meeting Date: 12/22/2020

Title: Memoranda of Agreement for insurance premium contributions for Insurance Year 2021 with regard to the following collective bargaining agreements: American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Local 8 for Assistant County Attorney, Teamsters Local 320, International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Local 49 and Local 70, Law Enforcement Labor Services (LELS) Locals 184, 349, 353 and 423

Background and Rationale:

Collective bargaining with nine AFSCME bargaining units has resulted in agreement on the employer and employee contributions for insurance premiums for 2021. Historically the County has set premiums for the remainder of the workforce pursuant to the AFSCME settlement. However, the insurance premium increases have been born solely by employees pending the full resolution of the remaining unsettled bargaining agreements. This resulted in the County retroactively recalculating those contributions. The County would then manually adjust premiums and provide employees with a refund for the difference in premium.

By entering into Memoranda of Agreements regarding the insurance premiums prior to negotiation of the remaining collective bargaining agreements the County minimizes the administrative burden of retroactive premium changes and the impact to employees of the temporary burden of paying the entire insurance premium increase.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

- Approve the Memoranda of Agreement for insurance premium contributions for insurance year 2021.
- Authorize the Chair and County Manager to execute the Memoranda of Agreement as agreed to by the individual bargaining units that appears in form and substance with the attached representative document.

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner McDonough, seconded by Commissioner Reinhardt.

Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

By: Januth Buthrie

Janet Guthrie, Chief Clerk - County Board