roclamatio

WHEREAS, on September 17, 1968, the 90th Congress authorized President Lyndon B. Johnson to issue annually a proclamation designating the week including September 15 and 16 as National Hispanic Heritage Week to honor the contributions of Americans who trace their roots to Spain, Mexico, the countries of Central and South America, the Caribbean, and who also have roots in Africa as well as indigenous communities across all the Americas, and

WHEREAS, On August 17, 1988, Congress amended the former resolution, authorizing President Ronald Regan to extend this recognition into an annual month-long celebration, from September 15 through October 15 as Hispanic Heritage Month; and

WHEREAS, Hispanic Heritage Month celebrates the achievements of Hispanic Americans in the Arts, Education, Entertainment, Government, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, the Military, Music, Politics, Science, Sports, and other endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The Hispanic and Latino communities of Ramsey County, the city of Saint Paul, and across the region and state of Minnesota have made profound impacts in our society and have contributed to the rich cultural diversity of Ramsey County; and

WHEREAS, The Hispanic and Latino communities across the nation have resisted oppression, seized opportunities to achieve prosperity; and have preserved sacred traditions which value family, history, nature and land, as well as food, art, and music; and have consistently contributed to the economy through countless entrepreneurial endeavors, businesses, and have strengthened various labor and industry markets; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners recognizes September 15 through October 15, 2020 as Hispanic Heritage Month; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners encourages all residents of Ramsey County to join in recognizing and celebrating the contributions and the important presence of the Hispanic and Latino communities in Ramsey County.

Toni Carter, Board Chair, District 4

May & McSuire

Rafael E. Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Victoria a. Reinhardt Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Jim McDonough, Commissioner, District 6